Back to homepage YUKON



The name Yukon comes from the Gwich’in word Yu-kun-ah meaning “great river” and is a reference to the Yukon River. Lying in the northwestern corner of Canada and isolated by rugged mountains, the Yukon borders Alaska to the west, British Columbia to the south and the Northwest Territories to the east.

Historically, it is indelibly associated with the great Klondike Gold Rush.

Yukon has eight municipalities with one city (Whitehorse), three towns (Dawson, Faro and Watson Lake), four villages (Mayo, Haines Junction, Teslin and Carmacks), three hamlets (Elsa, Ibex Valley and Mt Lorne) and another 25 unincorporated communities (including Aboriginal settlements).

Health system

Hospitals are located in Whitehorse, Mayo and Watson Lake. The remainder of the territory is served by smaller health centres and nursing stations staffed primarily by a team of public health nurses.

Canadian Encyclopedia.ca


Tourism Yukon

To find other repertoires related to specific health care in Yukon, see also our page Index in the TOOLS section


Yukon Communities

Beaver Creek

Burwash Landing



Dawson City

Destruction Bay


Haines Junction

Ibex Valley

Keno City

Marsh Lake


Mount Lorne

Old Crow

Pelly Crossing

Ross River



Watson Lake




Want a sponsored link? Check our membership and partnership section.

Help us to help you better!