The Northwest Territories lie northwest of central Canada, bordered to the east by Nunavut, to the west by the Yukon and to the south by the northeastern corner of British Columbia, as well as the entire northern borders of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

The name was originally applied to the territory acquired in 1870 from the Hudson’s Bay Company and Great Britain: Rupert’s Land and the North-Western Territory.

In 1880 Great Britain also transferred to Canada the arctic islands, north of the mainland, thereby adding to the territories. The acquisition of the NWT was a major component of the Canadian government’s desire, led by Sir John A. MacDonald, to construct a British nation in North America and to guard against the potential incursion of American settlers.

There is one city in the NWT, Yellowknife, along with one village, Fort Simpson. In addition, there are four towns, four community governments, three charter communities and 11 hamlets.


Until Northern Health Services was established by the federal government in 1954, health services in the territory were provided principally by church agencies.

The territorial government assumed full control of health services in 1988. Modern hospitals are located in Yellowknife, Hay River, Fort Smith and Inuvik, with lesser facilities, including some 50 nursing stations, scattered over the territory. Dental care is available in Yellowknife, Hay River, Inuvik and Fort Smith, and from government-employed full-time dentists and dental therapists located throughout the NWT.



Tourism Northwest Territories

To find other repertoires related to specific health care in the Northwest Territories, see also our page Index in the Tools section


Northwest Territories Touristic Regions

Western Artic

North Slave

South Slave



Want a sponsored link? Check our membership and partnership section for more details.

Help us to help you better!